Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (21) - TV Shows (1)

In & Out review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 31 August 2012 05:35 (A review of In & Out)

"Is everybody gay? Is this the twilight zone?"

Oh boy! what a movie, it's so funny-silly-lame-awesome-cliched type movie that you enjoy it even when you are in the end scene and at the graduation ceremony and you go wth? and you still laugh you head off.

So it's a story which is inspired by Tom Hanks oscar speech where he thanks two gay guys who helped him in the beginning of his acting dream. So in this movie, The student Cameron Drake wins the Oscar and in his acceptance speech, like Tom Hanks, he thanks his amazing teacher and says "and he is gay".
This shocks the whole town of Greenleaf because they all didn't know that in fact the teacher Howard Brackett or Kevin Kline didn't know it either and to his dismay, He was all set to marry Emily in mere 3 days. So the question is, is he really gay and if he is, should he be marrying Emily or not.

This is a fun ride, the town people are cliched and funny and hats off to Kevin. He really makes us love him seriously, he comes across like a really nice guy, and that dance he does while figuring out his sexuality, I wanted to dance with him. I loved this movie 60% because of Kevin Kline, he is awesome in it. Oh and if you are a fan of his dancing, do check out "the extra man" he dances hilariously there!
Ok back to the movie, that kiss with Tom Selleck, I mean wow, I went :O really they are kissing??? I like both of them so I guess that was a wickedly funny moment!

So should you watch it?

Yes, because it is funny and cozy. It's pure fun so I'd recommend it if you want to watch it with friends (close ones not the class mates) It'll be amazing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Unforgiven review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 26 August 2012 11:08 (A review of Unforgiven)

This is a story of surviving your present with haunted memories of one's past.

Will Munny was a whimsical murderer and an assassin. He was a cold hearted drunk killer who even killed children and women at one time. His life took a u-turn when Cluadia entered his life. They both got married despite of Claudia's mother objection when she feared her daughter was going to be killed by him and thus Claudia was making a big mistake.
They got married and Cluadia straightened him up. He stopped drinking and gave up his ways of killings. They got 2 children and then Claudia died due to small pox.

He remained faithful to his wife but his faith and love got tested when he had to go back and do a final kill to earn some money for his children. Will he be able to do it?

First of all, I would love to discuss the fact that the character depiction of will Munny is great. When he rides the horse for the first time in years, you actually feel like he is doing that after years because here is what I always think is weird in movies.
We humans when we do exercise and then leave it for months or years our stamina grows weaker but in Chinese movies and in countless Hollywood movies, when a hero returns from exile esp action one, they are still perfect. I get it, they were kung fu masters in youth but after some years without their exercise, will they still be having that much stamina? Frankly I felt quite frustrated at that fact so unforgiven thanks for that portrayal.

Story is good, musical score is nice. Acting is great and over all the feel of the move is very natural. You can see Sergio Leone's impact on Cint in many shots esp in terms of cinematography. Last bar scene was quite fitting and I saw myself rooting for Will.

So should you watch it:
If you like watching a move with drama, emotions and not so warped screenplay then it is the movie. I won't recommend it for watching with your friends though because it is quite slow paced for that.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Dictator review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 18 August 2012 08:08 (A review of The Dictator)

It's a satire on dictators and how they live and do stuff.
and the greatest thing about this movie is the music. Song choices and music just keep the movie quite upbeat and I certainly enjoyed it at many occasions.
The story is quite flawed. In the middle I felt like they made the whole introduction go in vain because the opening scenes are good and you enjoy the dark humor but gradually when you go to middle, you feel kind of cheated.

I felt like I was watching a live action version of the emperor's new groove because both follow the same idea only in this live action, you can't go this much u-turn on a person. So, yeah I am kind of disappointed.

story is cliched, music as I said is awesome, certain times the comedy doesn't work and some times certain things don't make sense.

Now, the big question, should you watch it!
You should watch it if:
-you are looking for a movie to see with your guy friends and you just want to laugh.
- you don't mind cliches
-you are not fond of putting your brain to work while watching movies.

the end


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Battleship review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 14 August 2012 09:46 (A review of Battleship)

This movie is fun! The story is there, yes it is there and it goes smoothly. very simple and yes it is bit cliched but the entertainment value surpassed all these factors. I loved my time while watching this movie and I was happy by the end of it. Giant ships, awesome water effect I mean hats off to vfx team. I'd really recommend this movie to watch when you are with your friends. You'll have great time :)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Chronicle review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 15 July 2012 07:33 (A review of Chronicle)

3 teenagers somehow get themselves in contact with a mysterious substance which gives them super power and then the movie is about what they do and how they do things with it.

Ok so first off, this movie has a great pace in the first half in fact I was right into this movie within minutes it started. I loved how they introduced these characters and the great help I guess they had was that no character was out of this world so we as an audience could instantly grab ok yeah so this teen is like this and that one must be that and it doesn't annoy you at all. It has a charm into it and you somehow enjoy it. I won't be surprised if you sing price tag with Matt in the car because I did.

So then in series of events, our very troubled Andrew, his cousin Matt meet Steve who is very popular, intelligent and super smart kid and they venture into a cave which has this mysterious substance in it.
We then find out that these guys now have super powers. Now typically this is the point where the movie could go Awesome or another movie in a line of tons of not-so-good-not-so-bad movies list on similar super power topics and as much as I hate to say it the movie felt little short at certain things.

This is the time in the movie to know trio's dynamics because we have 3 very different individuals and since its modern time, the movie could go in the direction of them not copying movie mistakes and the teenagers telling each other what should not be done and Matt actually did that but it could have been better than that. We have a good length of movie time in which they are trying stuff with their powers but at one point as an audience I wanted them to do something grand with the powers and get out of individual level which it doesn't do, and we then end up a drama which you don't know why is happening esp why Andrew is believing in his father's words when he hates him with all his being. I don't know and this never gets answered.

Anyways this is a modern movie with a great pacing, great storytelling and has a great beginning a good middle but very cliched end which disappointed me so I gave it a 6. Sorry but I hate to know movie endings before they actually happen in the movie. :(

So should you watch it:
Yes, if you are looking for a movie to watch with your friends in hostel and enjoy because it's a good time pass movie.
No, if you like to watch movies which comes in ______ 100 best movies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Albert Nobbs review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 13 July 2012 05:34 (A review of Albert Nobbs)

Albert Nobbs is a woman, dressed as man who serves as a butler, known for being meticulous, alert and mannered. Albert meets another woman (Hubert Page) dressed as a man who is serving as a painter and his little life changes.

In the first half of the movie I was generally happy since Glenn's performance was great. She knows how to capture audience and story progresses at a good pace. We get to know all the cast and I liked this whole intro better than "remains of the day" movie where we had similar situations (though Anthony was really a man) and that movie was quite boring and uptight. (Note: Both movies are very different from each other).

But then when we get to the middle of the movie Everything instead of going up went downhill. The performances are great but I couldnt get my head around certain things and those just kept bugging me.

That all started when Albert visits Hubert Page and meets his/her wife Cathleen. They both acted as wife and husband and I kept thinking how is it possible? I mean I was hoping to get the fact acknowledged that Cathleen knows Page is a woman but she doesn't. I then hoped that may be this is a lesbian couple which also didn't get acknowledged so that left me quite confused. Seriously wouldn't Cathleen know Page is a woman? I couldn't wrap my head around it.
And this identity crisis repeats itself again but let's not go into spoilers cause that would be one.

Over all, beautiful performances, very good costumes, cinematography is beautiful but since at one point you can't wrap your head around certain things it all goes downhill for me at least. so 6/10. (would have been 4 but performances were cool)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Adventures of Tintin review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 1 May 2012 11:43 (A review of The Adventures of Tintin)

TinTin movie made me speechless. Its a very realistically animated movie and depicts the pinnacle of modern technology but thats about it. I am an animated student, call me conventionalist but why go for this much realism in animation, why not make it in live motion.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Celebration review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 8 March 2012 08:58 (A review of The Celebration)

The thing about being a regular movie watcher is that you reach a stage where very few movies compel you to think about them in bed before going to sleep. This is one of those movies.
Festen is a story of a Helge and his household. It is his 60th birthday and every member of the family is arriving at his house for a party. I won't say what happened then because I don't want to ruin this movie for you but it was enough to make me alert even at 2:00 am.
Movie is shot in a way that made me feel as if I was there. The behaviors of family members are quite surprising to watch, the friction between them is amazing. I think this is the most honestly made film I have ever seen on matters of family where members don't go "oh I love my family" hollywood crap in every 5th scene.
If you can digest a different cinema or a fan of it, Go for this movie! you wont be disappointed!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Synecdoche, New York review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 26 February 2012 09:29 (A review of Synecdoche, New York)

Its not an easy movie to review. I t has so many emotions, strong performances and subliminal messages. It is made in the form of the movie that you make in your head while reading a novel.

It is about the life of a man, his surroundings, his emotions and his questions about death.
A friend of mine who is much older than me appreciates it a lot, I watched this movie and it didnt affect me as much it did to him. When I discussed this with him he said its probably because in this movie you relate yourself to main lead because of his personal struggle with relationships, a personal fear of losing someone very close to him, trying to rebuild relationships, question death and the course of this life death circle. I agree I have yet to go through these all but if you are struggling, this movie is for you!

a great cinematic master piece! :)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Inception review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 7 May 2011 11:37 (A review of Inception)

yes it has great acting cast, yes a great storyline, what a concept and yes wow what breathtaking cg effects and at one point you do get driven by the film but still movie is bit draggy and when you watch it second time, it doesn't appeal to you as much as you anticipate. and that's why i think it is bit over rated!


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block